2018: The 90th Academy Awards

Fantasy and SF Pictures in the Five Main Categories.


We are on a journey to discover the sci-fi and fantasy movies that won the Oscar Award, from 1929 until today in the five main categories (Best Picture, director, actor, actress and screenplay).

The Story so far:
1933 - Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
1942 - Here Comes Mister Jordan
1957 - The Red Balloon
1965 - Mary Poppins
1969 - Charly
1974 - The Exorcist
1991 - Misery & Ghost
2004 - The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
2005 - Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
2013 - Life of Pi
2014 - Gravity

The 90th Academy Awards ceremony took place on March the 4th, at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, for movies released in 2017. Three awards in the five main categories went to Fantasy and Horror! Happy Days!

Best Picture, Best Director: 

The Shape of Water (Fantasy), by Guillermo del Toro and J Miles Dale.

Set in Baltimore in 1962, the story follows a mute custodian at a high-security government laboratory who falls in love with a captured human-like amphibian creature.

Best Screenplay:

Get Out (Horror), by Jordan Peele

It stars Daniel Kaluuya as Chris, a black man who uncovers a disturbing secret when he meets the family of his white girlfriend.