2015: The 87th Academy Awards


We are on a journey to discover the sci-fi and fantasy movies that won the Oscar Award, from 1929 until today in the five main categories (Best Picture, director, actor, actress and screenplay). With the 2017 edition fast approaching, here is a little catch up from 2015.

The Story so far:
1933 – Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
1942 – Here Comes Mister Jordan
1957 – The Red Balloon
1965 – Mary Poppins
1969 – Charly
1974 – The Exorcist
1991 – Misery & Ghost
2004 – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
2005 – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
2013 – Life of Pi
2014 – Gravity

The 87th Academy Awards ceremony took place on Sunday, February 22, 2015 at the Dolby Theatre at the Hollywood & Highland Center, awarding movies released in 2014. 2015 was not a great year for Fantasy and Science Fiction movies.

The closest call to “Fantasy” was made by Birdman or (the unexpected virtue of ignorance). The movie won Best Movie and Best Director for Alejandro G. Iñárritu. I say vaguely Fantasy because technically Birdman or (the unexpected virtue of ignorance) is more of a comedy drama, but Michael Keaton’s character introduces some fantastic elements to the story.

Still, not enough to claim the title of Fantasy movie, so the score remains the same. You can still enjoy the trailer!

Oscar Run: Sci-fi 5 – Fantasy 8