2013: The 85th Academy Awards

Sci-fi and Fantasy movies that snatched the Oscar Award in the five main categories.


We are on a journey to discover the sci-fi and fantasy movies that won the Oscar Award, from 1929 until today in the five main categories (Best Picture, director, actor, actress and screenplay).

The Story so far:
1933 – Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
1942 – Here Comes Mister Jordan
1957 – The Red Balloon
1965 – Mary Poppins
1969 – Charly
1974 – The Exorcist
1991 – Misery & Ghost
2004 – The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
2005 – Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

The 85th Academy Awards ceremony took place on Sunday, February 24, 2013 at the Dolby Theatre at the Hollywood & Highland Center, awarding movies released in 2012.

Directing: Life of Pi – Ang Lee


Ang Lee wins the Oscar for his directorial skills in this adaptation of Yann Martel’s best seller.

The storyteller Pi Patel tells the story of his life as he grew up in India. His father owned a zoo, and when he decided to move to Canada, he brought along the animals to be sold there. However, during the trip they shipwreck, leaving Pi to survive on a lifeboat in the company of a zebra, an orangutan, a hyena and a male Bengal tiger called Richard Parker. As they are adrift in the Pacific Ocean, with two aggressive, not to mention starving, animals, Pi needs to find a way to survive.

Oscar Run: Sci-fi 3 – Fantasy 8